Impacts of sea-level rise from past to present (iSLR18)

ECR meeting 2018: Impacts of sea-level rise from past to present

Map of

Impacts of sea-level rise from past to present (iSLR18)

ECR meeting 2018: Impacts of sea-level rise from past to present

Utrecht Science Park ‘De Uithof’ (The Netherlands)
26 Aug 2018 - 29 Aug 2018


Aug 26th - 29th, 2018


Utrecht Science Park ‘De Uithof’, (The Netherlands)


The conference aims to facilitate scientific exchange between early-career researchers (ECR) from a broad range of disciplines that work on past sea-level reconstructions, future projections of sea-level change, drivers of sea-level change, impacts of sea-level change on past submerged landscapes and present coastal zones, and mitigation strategies that ensure the viability of ecosystems and populated areas.
The conference will include two days of oral and poster presentations by ECR, invited keynote lectures, one day of field excursion to the Rhine delta and Holland coastal plain with conference dinner, and a public ‘Science and Society’ evening session. Conference participants will be early-career researchers who have obtained or expect to obtain their Ph.D. in 2010 or later.   

Tentative costs are €200,-. This includes conference and field trip participation, coffee breaks, lunches, dinners on the 27th and 28th, ice-breaker on the 26th, and three nights’ accommodation including breakfast in a shared-room hostel at walking distance from the venue.   
A limited number of grants will be available to support ECR in registration and/or travel, especially those from low-GDP per capita countries. Pre-register your interest as early as possible. Decision on grants are scheduled for March 2018.   

Please pre-register at:  

Organizing committee, consisting of ECR: Dr. Aimee Slangen (NIOZ), Dr. Kay Koster (TNO), Dr. Robert Barnett  (University of Exeter; PALSEA; PAGES), Dr. Xavier Benito (University of Nebraska-Lincoln; PAGES), and Dr. B. de Boer (Utrecht University).  

Advisory committee: Prof. Dr. M. van Kolfschoten (Leiden University; INQUA), Dr. M.-F. Loutre (PAGES), Prof. Dr. A. Ashworth (North Dakota State University; INQUA), Dr. F.S. Busschers (TNO; INQUA), Dr. K.M. Cohen (Utrecht University; INQUA-NL), Dr. W.Z. Hoek (Utrecht University; INQUA-NL), Dr. P. Stocchi (NIOZ), Dr. W. van der Wal (Delft University of Technology), and Dr. M.P. Hijma (Deltares).